1.1

Nondiscipleship costs abiding peace, a life penetrated throughout by love, faith that sees everything in the light of God’s overriding governance for good, hopefulness that stands firm in the most discouraging of circumstances, power to do what is right and withstand the forces of evil.
-Dallas Willard

Nondiscipleship costs abiding peace…hopefulness that stands firm in the most discouraging of circumstances.
I know what it’s like to live without peace, without hope. Rewind two years, three months, and you get a me void of peace, void of hope, void of life. I was at a time in my life where peace was seemingly unattainable and I was suffering greatly both from that falsehood and the reality it offered – the reality that in the midst of my anger, bitterness, and depression I had somehow lost hold of my Jesus. He was someone I saw other’s enjoying, trusting in, but not myself. The point at which I’d lost hope in finding peace I couldn’t remember. For days, weeks, months, I was lost in a peace-less trance, slave to brokenness. I was undeniably in the most discouraging of circumstances. And then I remembered in whom I could hope to bring me back to the peace I once knew. Jesus Christ, my Savior, had always been waiting for me wake up.

Once I realized I’d lost all hope and peace, I decided to get back on track and find every encouraging verse in the Bible containing the words “hope” and “peace” and write them out on cards. For days I reviewed these verses, let them infiltrate my skin, seep into my soul, and fill my heart with life again.

It’s no wonder a life without discipleship will lead to something so morbid. We humans are a strange kind. Without constant reminder of the light, we forget about it and focus on the darkness – that ghastly, cheating darkness that lures us in before we even realize we’ve succumbed to its call. We need a fog horn to rouse us from the stupor, a hard shaking of the shoulders, a blow on the head, a knocking out of the knees. How wonderful is the light that we’ve left! Remember that glorious feeling that floods through your veins and produces a glow from your innermost parts out to the world.

That constant reminder when need can only be received in daily discipleship. The forces of evil are strong, and only strong soldiers can withstand. So with hands, heads, and hearts held high, let us surrender to the One who sustains – the Peace-giver, the Lover, the Faithful, the Powerful, our Hope, Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

